The Ian Riebeling Memorial Medal

This medal was struck in honour of the late Ian Riebeling, a forensic document examiner with Forensic Science South Australia in Adelaide.  Ian passed away suddenly in February of 2001 and was an active member of the Society.  He had held the position of President of the South Australian Branch of the ANZFSS and many other positions in the preceding years.

The medal is awarded to the best new practitioner who presents either a paper or poster at each ANZFSS International Symposium every two years.  The Ian Riebeling Award is selected from the pool of oral and poster presenters who are within the first five years, or part-time equivalent, of their employment as a forensic practitioner.  Presenters need to have declared this at the time of their registration.


Previous winners are:


Felicity Koens (Australian Federal Police): A background survey of polymers in the act – diversity in isotopic abundance values


Danielle Butzbach (Forensic Science SA): Post-mortem production of paracetamol via degradation of its metabolite


Ashleigh Fox (University of Auckland): Exploring the recovery of mRNA and DNA from chemically treated finger-marks in blood


Lauren Parsons (ESR, New Zealand): Low copy number DNA analysis and document examination: impact of technologies on respective analyses; The New Zealand national DNA database: Simplified DNA profiling using the Whatman FTA elute card and Hamilton Nimbus robotics


Nicole Walker (NZ Police): Distinguishing between expirated blood and impact spatter using chemical and physical methods


Kaye Ballantyne (Victoria Police Forensic Services Department & La Trobe University): Increased profiling success from WGA.d degraded DNA; WGA to assist STR genotyping of trace DNA


Cameron Scadding (Curtin University of Technology): Forensic identification and provenance establishment of oxy-acetylene cutting micro debris from crime scenes


Carolyne Bird (Forensic Science SA): Low temperature infra-red fluorescence for the discrimination of inks