South Australian Branch Awards

A variety of  awards are advertised by the SA Branch of the ANZFSS from time to time.  These are mostly associated with the biannual International Symposium and to encourage and facilitate study and travel by members to advance their work in forensic science:

The Sandy Congdon Memorial Scholarship awarded to the most outstanding SA Branch member who has applied for a Symposium Award.

The Ross Vining Memorial Student Scholarship is presented to the most outstanding SA Branch student member who has applied for a Symposium Award.

SA Branch Award for Service for contributions of an individual to the local branch.

SA Branch Professional Development Award, offered biennially in non-Symposium years to Life, General and Student Members to support attendance at a professional developmental event which will help further skills, knowledge or expertise in the recipients field.

Society Awards

The Allan Hodda Memorial Award presented to a member of the ANZFSS to travel to any destination to further their own study, attend a notable forensic meeting or visit a laboratory of their choice.

The Adelaide Medal presented at the International Association of Forensic Sciences Conference every 3 years, for scientific achievement that has had a marked influence on the forensic sciences from an international perspective.

The Ian Riebeling Memorial Medal is awarded to the best new practitioner who presents either a paper or poster at each ANZFSS International Symposium every two years.  The Ian Riebeling Award is selected from the pool of oral and poster presenters who are within the first five years, or part-time equivalent, of their employment as a forensic practitioner.

Symposium Awards are offered every two years to support the attendance of practitioners and students at the Symposium.

Symposium Discipline Awards at the ANZFSS International Symposium, awards are made in various categories in line with the SMANZFL Specialist Advisory Groups, and reflecting the Symposium streams.  These awards are in recognition of the best paper and poster in each discipline.