Awards & Scholarships


The NSW Branch of the ANZFSS is dedicated to the continued support of its members and has created awards that recognise their members’ excellence. The Michael Dawson and Rebecca Kendrew Memorial Awards, in addition to the Eric Murray Student Award, provide financial assistance to NSW Branch members wishing to attend ANZFSS International Symposia. Awards to facilitate travel and or attendance to Symposia will be based on the merits of the application. Applications are open approximately 12 months prior to the next scheduled International Symposia, and application forms will be available to download here.
Our next International Symposium on the Forensic Sciences, the 22nd Triennial Meeting of IAFS held in conjunction with the 25th International Symposium of the Australian & New Zealand Forensic Science Society, will be held on 21 – 25 September 2020, in Sydney. For more information, please go to


An awards sub-committee will be formed from the branch committee, overseen by the Branch President. Each application will be judged on its merit. If insufficient applications are received the number of scheduled awards may not be given, at the discretion of the award subcommittee. Each award is approved based on the application and is subject to the following conditions:
  • Applications are to be submitted electronically and received by the due date;
  • Abstract for the presentation of poster/oral is included in the application;
  • Acceptance of the abstract/s by the Symposium Scientific Committee;
  • Presentation at the Symposium of the poster/oral presentation as outlined in this application (with acknowledgment of the NSW Branch of the ANZFSS), and
  • Presentation at a NSW Branch meeting / Awards Night either prior to, or, subsequent to the Symposium (inclusive of having a photo taken on the Awards Night),
Proof of current student status to be submitted with applications, where applicable. Inability to meet any of the above criteria may affect the applicant’s entitlement to the award. Application assessment criteria will be made available upon opening of award applications. If an application does not meet the required standard, or no suitable applications are received, the branch reserves the right to abstain from offering the award.
Please also note the ANZFSS Executive offer Travel Scholarships which are available for all members to apply for. Please go to for more information.


The Rebecca Kendrew Award
The Michael Dawson Award
The Eric Murray Award
Past Award Recipients