ANZFSS Symposium Awards

Applications for Symposium Awards to attend the 2020 Symposium in Sydney are now open

To apply please read the criteria and conditions below, then complete the application form. The completed form must be emailed to the ANZFSS Secretary , Dr Carolyne Bird at, by 5.00 pm (ACDT) on Friday 31 January 2020. Please save your PDF using the following filename format “Branch First_Name Last_Name Symposium Award”.

Note if you have trouble opening the application form when you click on the link above, right click on the link and select ‘Save link as…’ to download the file to your computer, find the location to which the file has been downloaded and open the file to Adobe Acrobat Reader from there. Note also that the edited PDF form cannot be saved for further editing, you will have to print (to PDF or hardcopy) in order to save and submit it.


Applicants must be:

  • a General or Professional member of ANZFSS with at least 24 months of continuous membership at the date of the 2020 symposium (22 September 2020), OR
  • a Student member of ANZFSS with at least 12 months of continuous membership at the date of the 2020 symposium (22 September 2020), OR
  • a Life member of ANZFSS.

Criteria include involvement in the local Branch and the Society, and the merit of the paper or poster to be presented.

Note that awards may be made to a limited number of non-presenters; applicants must make a statement outlining the personal and professional benefits of their attendance at the Symposium within the application form.


For successful applicants who have submitted abstract(s) to the Symposium:
– Acceptance of the abstract/s by the Symposium Scientific Committee;
– Presentation at the Symposium of the poster/oral presentation as outlined in the application (with acknowledgement of ANZFSS support), and;
– Presentation at a local Branch meeting either prior to, or, subsequent to the Symposium.

For successful applicants who are not presenting at the Symposium:
– Preparation of a synopsis of their Symposium attendance (e.g. presentations/posters that stood out, lessons learnt) for inclusion in a future ANZFSS newsletter

These awards are offered every two years to support the attendance of practitioners and students at the Symposium.

In 2018, 40 general and 20 student registrations have been awarded by ANZFSS Executive for attendance at the 24th International Symposium on the Forensic Sciences, to be held in Perth, Western Australia in September. The complete list of recipients is below.

General Members Student Members
Alex Caruana ACT Anna Agius ACT
Dennis McNevin ACT Alicia Khuu NSW
Michelle Gahan ACT Alexandra Summerell NSW
Daniel Pasin NSW Joshua Klingberg NSW
David Bruce NSW Matthieu Maitre NSW
Fiona Jackson NSW Natasha Benson NSW
Jodie Ward NSW Nicole Cattarossi NSW
Mackenzie de la Hunty NSW Rebecca Richards NZ
Scott Chadwick NSW Bradley Ivory NZ
Tony Raymond NSW Aaron Cosgrove QLD
Bindi Burnell NT Eliza Moule SA
Alicia Haines NZ Ashton Theakstone VIC
Anna Lemalu NZ Mitchell Montgomery VIC
Therese de Castro NZ Natalie Gasz VIC
Aaron Schulze QLD Rhiannon Boseley WA
Carl Streeting QLD Ariane Maggio WA
Julie Connell QLD Karin van der Pal WA
Duncan Taylor SA Phillip Day WA
Danielle Butzbach SA Sorour Shahbazi WA
Denice Higgins SA Talia Newland WA
Julianne Henry SA
Luke Volgin SA
Ted Silenieks SA
Gerard Dutton Tas
Mithun Rajshekar Tas
David North Tas
Annalisa Durdle VIC
Bernadette De Vere VIC
Bianca Szkuta VIC
Craig Hewitson VIC
Katherine Nicol VIC
Kylie Edwards VIC
Linda Jones VIC
Mariya Goray VIC
Peter Woodman VIC
Rowena Carter VIC
Runa Daniel VIC
Samantha Rowbotham VIC
Tim Verdon VIC
Nicola Beckett WA

2016 Symposium Travel Award recipients

2014 Symposium Travel Award recipients